Jon Pardi fans have waited patiently for more than three years for the follow-up to 2016's California Sunrise. The wait will finally end on Sept. 27, with the release of the classic country-loving singer-songwriter's Heartache Medication.

If the title track is any indication, the hot streak begun with 2015's multi-platinum single and airplay hit "Head Over Boots" and continued through 2018's "Night Shift" won't be cooling off any time soon once country DJs get ahold of future tracks. Read on to learn what we know so far about Heartache Medication.

The Title

On May 20, just one day after appearing on the season finale of American Idol, Pardi announced his new album's title, Heartache Medication, and shared the title track. As its name suggests, that track is all about drinking the pain away.

"I named it Heartache Medication because it talks about sad topics, but it makes you feel good at the same time," Pardi said during a media listening party for the new project. "It's a lot of uplifting stuff -- great beer and good times, you know?"

The Release Date

Heartache Medication is due out on Sept. 27, four days before Pardi's album-promoting tour begins with a two-night stand at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium (Oct. 1-2).

The Record Label

Heartach Medication will be the singer's third album issued by Capitol Nashville. His breakthrough 2016 album, California Sunrise, was preceded by the lesser-known 2014 release Write You a Song.

The Producer

Pardi co-produced Heartache Medication with Bart Butler, who also co-produced California Sunrise with the singer. The two are joined by Ryan Gore this time around as well.

The Album Cover

Jon Pardi Heartache Medication
UMG Nashville

The Heartache Medication album cover looks a bit like an old-school photo album cover. A photo of Pardi holding a mostly consumed beer is at the center, with his name and the album's title around it.

The Single

From its fiddle countdown to its George Strait-worthy lyrics, "Heartache Medication" should thrill fans of the tenderhearted throwback "Night Shift" and other traditionalist-leaning material from Pardi's prior album. The singer co-wrote the lead track with Natalie Hemby and Barry Dean.

"Heartache Medication" isn't a sad drinking song, though, with Pardi's lyrics and the song's upbeat tone conveying a frosty mug-half-full outlook. "It’s very upbeat and traditional, but it’s also just, I think, relevant in a way that it picks you up when you’re feeling down, or if you’re feeling good, it makes you feel extra good," Pardi explains. "And who doesn’t like a good ole fiddle intro? So, I think it’s gonna be awesome, and I hope y’all dig it, and I’ll be singing it a lot.”

The Songs

"There really are no sad songs on this record -- it covers a range of subjects, but is ultimately about moving on, and having a good time," Pardi says in a press release.

A full track listing for Heartache Medication is below. The featured songwriters include Josh Thompson, Rhett Akins and more, while a duet featuring Lauren Alaina, "Don't Blame It on Whiskey," was co-written by Eric Church, Miranda Lambert and others.

"I'm really proud of it. I'm really proud of all the session players, all the songwriters that delivered great songs. I wrote half the record, and then Nashville stepped in and wrote the other half. I'm very proud of that. And I think everybody's gonna love it," Pardi says.

Jon Pardi, Heartache Medication Track List:

1. “Old Hat” (Jeff Hyde, Matt Jenkins and Ryan Tyndell)
2. “ Heartache Medication” (Jon Pardi, Barry Dean and Natalie Hemby)
3. “Nobody Leaves a Girl Like That” (Bart Butler, Marv Green and Jimmy Yeary)
4. “Ain't Always the Cowboy” (Brandon Kinney and Josh Thompson)
5. “Me and Jack” (Jon Pardi, Rhett Akins, Bart Butler and Luke Laird)
6. “Don't Blame It on Whiskey" (feat. Lauren Alaina) (Eric Church, Michael Heeney, Luke Laird and Miranda Lambert)
7. “Tied One On” (Bart Butler, Chase McGill and Jamie Paulin)
8. “Oughta Know That” (Jon Pardi, Bart Butler and Luke Laird)
9. “Tequila Little Time” (Jon Pardi, Rhett Akins and Luke Laird)
10. “Buy That Man a Beer” (Clint Daniels, Justin Lantz and John Pierce)
11. “Call Me Country” (Jon Pardi, Bart Butler and Driver Williams)
12. “Just Like Old Times” (Jon Pardi, Jeff Hyde and Michael Heeney)
13. “Love Her Like She's Leaving” (Bart Butler, Dean Dillon and Jessie Jo Dillon)
14. “Starlight” (Jon Pardi, Bart Butler and Jeffrey Steele)

The Tour

One thing's for certain beyond the album's title and the hit potential of its lead single: Pardi's nonstop and electric road show will continue rolling shortly after Heartache Medication's release date. So far, he's planning a 12-date jaunt from Nashville to California from early October through early November, with opening support provided by Riley Green.

Who Else is Releasing New Music in 2019?

More From 101.9 The Bull